Staff & Board

Botanical Gardens Staff

The Buffalo and Erie County Staff and Board of Directors
Call 716.827.1584 and then the extension

Administration

David J. Swarts, President/CEO
extension 202 - dswarts@buffalogardens.com

Julie DeCarolis, Director of Administration
extension 200 – jdecarolis@buffalogardens.com

Development

Betsy Webster, Director of Development
extension 203 - bwebster@buffalogardens.com

Education

Kristy Blakely, Director of Education
extension 291 - kblakely@buffalogardens.com 

Jolene Bojar, Education Program Coordinator
extension 292 - jbojar@buffalogardens.com

Mary Clark, Education Assistant
mclark@buffalogardens.com

Facilities

Todd Zintz, Director of Facilities
extension 214 - tzintz@buffalogardens.com

Steve McDonald, Facilities Assistant

Guest Services & Gift Shop

Denise Nichols, Guest Services & Gift Shop Manager
extension 209 – dnichols@buffalogardens.com

Janet Akcakal, Guest Services & Gift Shop Associate
Gift Shop - extension 212

Shirley Landsittel, Guest Services & Gift Shop Associate
Gift Shop - extension 212

Jamie Nash, Guest Services & Gift Shop Associate
Gift Shop - extension 212

Mary Jane Stefano, Guest Services & Gift Shop Associate
Gift Shop - extension 212

Horticulture

Jeff Thompson, Director of Horticulture
extension 205 -jthompson@buffalogardens.com

Julie McDonald, Gardener

extension 208 - jhughes@buffalogardens.com

Kristin Lotz, Gardener
extension 228 - klotz@buffalogardens.com

Darla Mohrlock, Gardener
dmohrlock@buffalogardens.com

Marketing

Erin Grajek, Director of Marketing
extension 204 – egrajek@buffalogardens.com

Weddings and Private Events

Christina Stannard, Director of Weddings and Special Events
extension 219 - cstannard@buffalogardens.com
Alexis Schmitz, Coordinator of Weddings and Special Events
extension 220- aschmitz@buffalogardens.com

Volunteers

Karen Hammer, Volunteer Coordinator
extension 207 – khammer@buffalogardens.com

 

2013 Board of Directors

 

Officers

Chairman
Miche C. Needham, CPA, Lumsden & McCormick, LLP

Vice Chairman
Ed Dore, Dore Landscape Associates Inc.

Secretary
Kathy Guest Shadrack, Executive Assistant, Mercy Hospital

Treasurer
Bryan DeBroka, HSBC Bank USA

At Large Members

Dr. Maria Rita P. Andaya
Gordon Ballard, Ad Stuff Promotional Products
Henry Burns, Wells Fargo Advisors
Lawrence E. Christ, COO/LiteLab, Inc.
Joseph A. DiDomenico, Jr., Niagara Frontier Orchid Society
Rose Ann Dulski, Honeywell International Inc.
Richard F. Griffin, Esq., Kavinoky Cook, LLP  
Thomas Herman, Pioneer Central Schools
Elizabeth Holden, Hodgson Russ
Stephanie M. Karnas, M&T Bank
Lynn Kozinski, Medaille College
Joy Kuebler, Landscape Architect, PC
Elizabeth Licata, Buffalo Spree Magazine
Francesca B. Mesiah, Kaleida Health
Gail McGee, 8th District Federated Garden Clubs of WNY
Dave McIntyre, Unilock
Cathy Paladino
Adam J. Poole, CPA, Freed Maxick & Battaglia, CPAs, PC
Sara Root, Eric Mower and Associates
Claire Schen, Ph.D., University of Buffalo
Barbara Tomasi
Charles Joseph Urlaub, Mercy Hospital

Ex-Officio Directors

Mary Ann Kresse, Immediate Past Chairman
Patricia E. Connolly, Representative of the Legislature Chairman
Thomas Herrera-Mishler, Buffalo Olmsted Parks Conservancy
Troy P. Schinzel, Commissioner Erie County Parks, Recreation & Forestry

Director Emeritus - Florence DaLuiso-Zoll